Family Journey

1 Week Gluten Free

Posted on: February 5, 2011


The house smells amazing OR is it because I am starving and do not want another cold breakfast.

This has been 1 week of trying to eat Gluten Free and I will tell you have had a few successes, but I think I have had lots of fails.

So this morning, I decided to try my hand and cook. I have made 2 dishes so far and the one which is cooking right now can be cut up and frozen so I can have it at work next week.

Breakfast

Rice mixed with Granny Smith apples which were stewed with apple juice and brown sugar. B refused to touch it, so she had parts of lunch which is in the oven cooking.

Brunch and Next Week Breakfasts:

Maple Bacon, Eggs and Grit casserole.

Cooked bacon crumbled and mixed into a mixture of grits and eggs. Cooked into a bread like casserole, served hot and topped with shredded cheese.

It I very good, very excited. There is enough that I can take it to work every day next week for breakfast. I got really tired of yogurt and pineapple for breakfast every day.

Lunch:

I hope to see if I can talk Hubby into a late lunch at the Mellow Mushroom. I spoke to them yesterday and they told me to come in and sample their Gluten Free Pizza.

Tonight:

I’m going to try a hand at family favorite, tweaked to be Gluten Free.

Scallops with Bacon, Onion and Red Pepper on top of Polenta with a side of lightly breaded and fried Zucchini:  I hope the modifications work.

4 Responses to "1 Week Gluten Free"

I think rice and apples sounds pretty good. I hope you have a better week and know that your body will thank you. As will all your friends you want you around for many years to come.

Cooking is easier, when you have time. During the week, there is no time.

:) That Bacon grit cassarole sounds great..

It was yummy. I can send you the receipe if you want:)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

